U.S. National Team Announced Following Day Two at Winter Cup

IG Staff

Sunday, February 23, 2020

The U.S. National team was announced following the conclusion of the 2020 Winter Cup Challenge held in Las Vegas, Nevada. The top six gymnasts from the all-around competition on day one were automatically added to the team, which included: Sam Mikulak (USOPTC) 86.8, Shane Wiskus (Minnesota) 84.55, Brody Malone (Stanford) 83.95, Grant Breckenridge (Stanford) 83.9, Yul Moldauer (Oklahoma) 82.35 and Allan Bower (Oklahoma) 82.35.

After the second day of the competition, which determined the individual event medalists, USA Gymnastics announced the additional six members to the national team: Trevor Howard (Ohio State), Paul Juda (Michigan), Akash Modi (Stanford), Stephen Nedoroscik (Penn State), Colin Van Wicklen (Oklahoma) and Donnell Whittenburg (USOPTC). Trevor Howard and Donnell Whittenburg did not compete in Las Vegas, while Stephen Nedoroscik was at the Melbourne World Cup competition winning pommel horse.

The individual event winners at the event were:

FX – Gage Dyer (Oklahoma) 29.05

PH – Alex Yoder (Ohio State) 30.0

SR – Alex Diab (Illinois) 29.45

VT – Yul Moldauer (Oklahoma) 28.8

PB – Sam Mikulak (USOPTC) 29.45

HB – Colin Van Wicklen (Oklahoma) 27.6

For full results click here.

To subscribe to the print and/or digital edition of International Gymnast Quarterly, or to order back issues, click here.

More Gymnastics News: