Follow Us On

Written by Admin    Monday, 08 September 2008 19:33    PDF Print
Golden Liukin Rings in NY Fame
(1 vote, average 5.00 out of 5)
Golden-clad Nastia Liukin, flanked by actress Elizabeth Banks and tennis star Maria Sharapova, takes in a fashion show Monday at New York Fashion Week.

Gymnastics' biggest star is basking in the celebrity spotlight in the Big Apple this week.

On Monday, Olympic all-around champion Nastia Liukin got front-row billing at New York Fashion Week before appearing on "Late Night with Conan O'Brien."

On Tuesday morning, Liukin will appear on "The View." In the afternoon, she and her father, 1988 Olympic gold medalist Valery Liukin, will ring the closing bell at the NASDAQ Stock Exchange.

Her Olympic teammate Alicia Sacramone also attended some shows, but Liukin sat between actress Elizabeth Banks and tennis superstar Maria Sharapova at designer Peter Som's show Monday.

"It's such an honor to be here," said Liukin, clad in gold pumps and a gold Peter Som dress. "I've never been to anything like this."

Liukin, winner of nine world medals, won five medals at the Olympic Games last month in Beijing. She is appearing on the Tour of Gymnastics Superstars, which kicked off Sunday in Reno, Nev. Its next stop is Sept. 19 in Phoenix.

Written by Admin    Sunday, 07 September 2008 11:14    PDF Print
Johnson Gets Double Air Time
Actor Daren Kagasoff and Shawn Johnson on the set of "The Secret Life of the American Teenager." The episode featuring Johnson airs Tuesday on ABC Family.

2008 Olympic gold medalist Shawn Johnson (U.S.) will appear on not one, but two television programs Tuesday.

Johnson, 16, will make a repeat visit on "The Ellen DeGeneres Show." She first appeared on the syndicated talk show after she won the all-around gold at the 2007 World Championships. (Click here for local time and channel.)

Johnson also said yes to appearing on "Just Say No," the mid-season finale of "The Secret Life of the American Teenager" on ABC Family. Johnson plays a girl Ricky (Daren Kagasoff) flirts with in the school hallway. The show airs at 8:00 p.m. ET.

Written by Admin    Friday, 05 September 2008 08:22    PDF Print
Gymnasts Make Appearance on Monday's 'Oprah'
Oprah Winfrey hugs Olympic champion Nastia Liukin, while swimmer Michael Phelps and gymnasts Justin Spring and Jonathan Horton look on.

Members of the U.S. Olympic gymnastics teams will be among the guests at the season premiere of "The Oprah Winfrey Show," which airs Monday.

Oprah Winfrey invited all the U.S. medalists from the recent Olympic Games in Beijing to appear on her show. The result is one of her biggest shows ever — more than 175 U.S. Olympic stars attended Wednesday's taping at Chicago's Millennium Park.

The U.S. gymnasts in Beijing won 10 medals, including golds from Nastia Liukin (all-around) and Shawn Johnson (balance beam). In the team competition, the women won the silver and the men won the bronze.

Click here for a preview of the show.

Written by Admin    Saturday, 30 August 2008 21:22    PDF Print
U.S. Men's Team Makes MDA Appearance
(1 vote, average 5.00 out of 5)

The bronze medal-winning U.S. men's team from the 2008 Olympics will make an appearance during the Muscular Dystrophy Association's annual telethon this weekend.

The six-member team taped its segment Friday at the South Point Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas, the broadcasting site of MDA's 43rd annual Jerry Lewis Labor Day Telethon.

Muscular dystrophy, which comes in many forms, is a progressive diseased characterized by skeletal muscle weakness, defects in muscle proteins and the death of muscle cells and tissue.

"As gymnasts we know how important it is to have healthy muscles and nerves," team member Jonathan Horton said in the segment. "And we know that muscular dystrophy is threatening the health and well-being of tens of thousands of children and adults across the united states."

Established in 1966, the Jerry Lewis telethon has helped raise awareness for MDA. In 2007, the telethon received a record $63.8 million in donations and pledges.

"We talked about how grateful we were to be there, with MDA affecting so many lives across the country and showing our support by making a pledge," team member Raj Bhavsar told IG on Friday.

2008 U.S. Olympic team members Joey Hagerty, Raj Bhavsar, Kevin Tan, Justin Spring, Jonathan Horton and Sasha Artemev pose with Gerald Weinberg, president and CEO of the Muscular Dystrophy Association; and Steve Stallworth, Rich Niederman and George Lozano of the South Point Hotel & Casino.

All six members of the team — Sasha Artemev, Bhavsar, Joey Hagerty, Horton, Justin Spring and Kevin Tan — are currently in Las Vegas, rehearsing for the 38-city tour of Gymnastics Superstars. The tour kicks off Sept. 7 in Reno, Nev.

"It's awesome," said Bhavsar, who described the show as "high-energy." "Everyone is excited to be here. We're very happy to finish with celebrating our success across the country. We're really close, almost a brotherhood."

Two of the team members in Beijing — Bhavsar and Artemev — were originally team alternates but moved into the lineup after late withdrawals from the injured Paul Hamm and Morgan Hamm. The team placed sixth in the qualifying, but rallied in team finals to win an unexpected bronze.

Bhavsar arrived home in Houston last week, where he was met family and friends, and cameras from all the local news stations.

"To set foot back home completed a journey for me," he said. "It has been more than a dream, it has been like a fairy tale. Sometimes I still can't believe it. That medal was more than I expected."

Written by Admin    Friday, 29 August 2008 08:11    PDF Print
Liukin Leaps onto Wheaties Box

Olympic all-around champion Nastia Liukin will be featured in a special edition Wheaties cereal box, General Mills Inc. announced Thursday.

Liukin follows in the footsteps of Mary Lou Retton and Carly Patterson, both Olympic all-around champions who received the cereal box honor.

The 18-year-old Liukin won five medals at Olympics in Beijing, including the all-around gold.

Bryan Clay, Olympic gold medalist in the decathalon, is the only other 2008 Olympian honored with a special Wheaties box. (Swimming superstar Michael Phelps made his preference known by endorsing the higher-calorie Frosted Flakes.)

The special-edition boxes go on sale in September.

Liukin is also a finalist for the Women's Sports Foundation's Sportswoman of the Year. Click here to cast your vote for the gymnast online.


Page 140 of 170

Your are currently browsing this site with Internet Explorer 6 (IE6).

Your current web browser must be updated to version 7 of Internet Explorer (IE7) to take advantage of all of template's capabilities.

Why should I upgrade to Internet Explorer 7? Microsoft has redesigned Internet Explorer from the ground up, with better security, new capabilities, and a whole new interface. Many changes resulted from the feedback of millions of users who tested prerelease versions of the new browser. The most compelling reason to upgrade is the improved security. The Internet of today is not the Internet of five years ago. There are dangers that simply didn't exist back in 2001, when Internet Explorer 6 was released to the world. Internet Explorer 7 makes surfing the web fundamentally safer by offering greater protection against viruses, spyware, and other online risks.

Get free downloads for Internet Explorer 7, including recommended updates as they become available. To download Internet Explorer 7 in the language of your choice, please visit the Internet Explorer 7 worldwide page.