Follow Us On
Can The Japanese Men's Team Go Back-To-Back?
(1 vote, average 5.00 out of 5)

The Japanese men’s team are the defending World Champions, having won the 2015 Worlds in Glasgow, Scotland.

Years ago they won five consecutive World Championships: 1962 (Prague), ’66 (Dortmund), ’70 (Ljubljana), ’74 (Varna) and ’78 (Strasbourg).

Japan also won five straight Olympic Games: 1960 (Rome), ’64 (Tokyo), ’68 (Mexico City), ’72 (Munich) and ’76 (Montreal). They also won the team title and the 2004 Olympics in Athens. That’s quite a dynasty.

Read the complete coverage of the 2018 World Championships in Doha, Qatar, in the December issue of International Gymnast.

To subscribe to the print and/or digital edition or to order back issues of International Gymnast magazine, click here.

Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters