Follow Us On
Uchimura Takes Tokyo Cup, Purvis Wins Series
(5 votes, average 4.60 out of 5)

Three-time world champion Kohei Uchimura cruised to first place Sunday at the Tokyo Cup, though British star Daniel Purvis picked up the overall title for the 2011 FIG World Cup series.

The Tokyo Cup is the fourth and final all-around FIG World Cup in 2011, following events in Jacksonville and Glasgow in the spring and in Stuttgart two weeks ago.

Uchimura, who won two gold medals at the world gymnastics championships held last month in Tokyo, was unstoppable once again Sunday. Uchimura's lowest score of the day was 15.233 on still rings, which was still the best mark on the event, and he won the title by nearly 3.5 points.

Second to Uchimura at the past two world championships, Germany's Philipp Boy again claimed silver. Boy broke on pommel horse (13.633) but hit elsewhere, taking the highest score of the day on high bar with his even 16.000 (7.0 Difficulty).

Purvis won the all-around bronze, less than half a point behind Boy. The Brit hit six events, taking the second-best score on floor exercise behind Uchimura, but played it safe on vault with only a double-twisting Yurchenko. Purvis, first in Glasgow and third in Stuttgart, took the series overall crown.

Teenager Shogo Nonomura, who won the DTB Cup in Stuttgart, placed fourth. The 18-year-old talent fell off pommel horse but impressed with his strength on still rings, tying Uchimura for the best score of the day.

Ukrainian standout Nikolai Kuksenkov finished fifth, followed by French gymnast Cyril Tommasone and Britain's Kristian Thomas.

Spanish veteran Rafael Martinez was forced out of the competition in the third rotation, cutting his head on the still rings cable during a Yamawaki gone wrong.

External Link: Japan Gymnastic Association

2011 Tokyo World Cup
Nov. 27, Ryogoku Kokugikan, Tokyo, Japan

Men's All-AroundFXPHSRVTPBHBTotal
1.Kohei Uchimura15.70015.36615.23315.90015.43315.93393.565
2.Philipp Boy15.33313.63314.63315.83314.66616.00090.098
3.Daniel Purvis15.40014.53315.06615.36614.73314.53389.631
4.Shogo Nonomura14.93313.33315.23315.76615.26614.76689.297
5.Nikolai Kuksenkov14.56614.66615.06615.40014.60014.66688.964
6.Cyril Tommasone14.70015.46613.93315.40014.66613.56687.731
7.Kristian Thomas15.00012.10014.60015.00013.66614.70085.066
8.Rafael Martinez14.20011.23312.4660.0000.0000.00037.890
Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters