Follow Us On
Swiss Team Takes First Swiss Cup Title
(6 votes, average 5.00 out of 5)

Giulia Steingruber and Claudio Capelli paired up to capture the Swiss Cup on Sunday in Zurich, becoming the first duo from the host nation to win the annual mixed-team competition.

Giulia Steingruber and Claudio Capelli, 2011 Swiss Cup champions

The competition pairs a female and male gymnast, each competing one event per round. Eight teams advance to the semifinal and four teams advance to the final. The gymnasts cannot compete the same event through the first three rounds of competition, but can compete any event in the four-team final. Gymnasts electing to compete vault must show two different vaults.

By one tenth, Steingruber and Capelli defeated Germany's Elisabeth Seitz and Fabian Hambüchen, the defending champion pair from 2010. Steingruber, a vault finalist at last month's world championships, competed a layout Rudi and Tsukahara-full (14.500) in the final round, while Capelli earned 15.350 on parallel bars.

After falling on his Kolman in the second round, Hambüchen hit his spectacular high bar routine in the final (16.350). Seitz, however, missed uneven bars, falling over the low bar on a bail transition.

Russia's Anna Dementyeva and Nikita Ignatyev took third. Dementyeva struggled in the first two rounds, falling on uneven bars (Shaposhnikova-half) and balance beam (switch ring), but stayed on beam in the final round.

The Romanian pair of Ana Porgras and Flavius Koczi finished fourth. Koczi chose to compete floor exercise instead of the higher-scoring vault, while Porgras wobbled throughout her beam routine. Porgras hit beam beautifully in the first round, but crashed her dismount off uneven bars in the semifinal.

External Link: Swiss Cup

2011 Swiss Cup
Nov. 6, Zurich

Round 1Round 2SemifinalFinal
1. Switzerland 1 87.32529.850
Giulia Steingruber5.413.30014.3255.513.95014.500
Claudio Capelli15.8006.115.2005.814.7506.115.350
2. Germany 186.15029.750
Elisabeth Seitz5.914.4005.513.8005.713.6006.113.400
Fabian Hambüchen5.915.0006.414.1006.215.2507.516.350
3. Russia87.10029.100
Anna Dementyeva5.813.1506.413.8005.814.4506.014.450
Nikita Igtnatyev15.5506.214.8506.315.3006.214.650
4. Romania85.67528.750
Ana Porgras6.114.6505.313.8505.012.0005.513.900
Flavius Koczi15.5256.414.9006.214.7506.414.850
5. Germany 285.650
Kim Bui6.214.45013.7505.413.900
Sebastian Krimmer5.714.0506.015.1005.814.400
6. Korea84.850
Jo Hyunjoo5.513.05013.6005.313.050
Yang Hak Seon5.914.4005.614.30016.450
7. Ukraine83.975
Angelina Kysla5.612.80013.3255.513.250
Nikolai Kuksenkov5.814.7006.515.0506.014.850
8. Switzerland 283.650
Jessica Diacci5.313.2505.112.0505.213.200
Pascal Bucher15.1006.115.3505.914.700
9. Great Britain54.900
Elizabeth Beddoe4.912.9003.911.500
Ruslan Panteleymonov15.8505.614.650
10. Italy52.225
Jessica Mattoni4.912.5505.211.800
Paolo Principi15.1255.912.750

Swiss Cup Champions, 1982-2011

2011Giulia SteingruberClaudio Capelli
2010Elisabeth SeitzFabian Hambüchen
2009Kim BuiMatthias Fahrig
2008He NingLu Bo
2007Steliana NistorFlavius Koczi
2006Oksana ChusovitinaJordan Jovtchev
2005Han BingTeng Haibin
2004Catalina PonorMarius Urzica
2003Oana BanMarian Dragulescu
2002Monica RosuPhilippe Rizzo
2001Silvia StroescuMarian Dragulescu
2000Yelena ZamolodchikovaAlexei Bondarenko
1994-1999Individual event competition
1993Yelena PiskunVitaly Scherbo
1992Svetlana BoginskayaVitaly Scherbo
1991Shannon MillerScott Keswick
1990Natalia LaschenovaValery Belenky
1989Kim ZmeskalLance Ringnald
1988Gabriela PotoracMarius Toba
1987Daniela SilivasNicusor Pascu
1986Ecaterina SzaboMarian Rizan
1985Yang YanliLi Ning
1984Simona PaucaDaniel Wunderlin
1983Not Held
1982Natalia SoloveyaDmitry Bilozerchev
Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters