Follow Us On
US, Puerto Rico Aim for Pan Am Games Repeat
(6 votes, average 4.33 out of 5)

Artistic gymnastics competition begins Monday at the Pan American Games in Guadalajara, where the U.S. women and Puerto Rican men seek to repeat as team champions.

The artistic gymnastics field includes more than 100 gymnasts from 18 nations across North, South and Central America.

World and Olympic champion Shawn Johnson headlines the U.S. women's team, which won the past two team titles. Johnson won four golds at the 2007 Pan Am Games in Rio de Janeiro (team, all-around, uneven bars and balance beam).

"I remember going to Brazil - the 2007 Pan Ams – and it being one of my favorite competitions," said Johnson, who is in the U.S. lineup for vault, uneven bars and balance beam. "Just the atmosphere of the Games, it’s like a little Olympics, and I love being here. I’m excited, because I think we have a strong team."

2009 world champion Bridget Sloan is also back in action for the U.S., serving as team captain.

"Being team captain is a big role for me but I have taken it head on," Sloan said. "All of the girls who made this Pan Am team should be so proud. Personally, this is the first time I'll be doing the all-around since 2010 ... and definitely excited to do it here."

The depth of the U.S. squad allowed it to send a different team than that which won the gold medal at the recent world championships in Japan. With a few exceptions, most other nations sent the same gymnasts that competed in Tokyo.

World team alternate Talia Chiarelli replaces Madeline Gardiner in the Canadian lineup. Brazil's Gabriela Soares stepped in to replace reigning Pan Am vault champion Jade Barbosa, who suffered a sprained left ankle in the vault final in Tokyo.

The Puerto Rican men will attempt to hold off Brazil and the U.S. again to defend their team title. Brazil's squad boasts two medalists from Tokyo: still rings runner-up Arthur Zanetti and floor exercise bronze medalist Diego Hypolito.

The men's competition also will crown a new all-around champion, since 2007 victor José Luis Fuentes (Venezuela) suffered a torn ACL in September.

Competition begins Monday with the women's team and individual qualification.

External Link: Official Website

2011 Pan American Games

Oct. 24-28, Guadalajara, Mexico


Women's Roster
Agustina Estarli
Lucila Estarli
Merlina Galera
Camila Heredia
Priscila Cobello
Daiane dos Santos
Adrian Gomes
Daniele Hypolito
Bruna Leal
Gabriel Soares
Talia Chiarelli
Mikaela Gerber
Coralie Leblond-Chartrand
Peng-Peng Lee
Dominique Pegg
Kristina Vaculik
Simona Castro
Makarena Pinto
Melba Avendaño
Catalina Escobar
Jessica Gil
Gabriela Gomez
Nathalia Sanchez
Bibiana Velez
Karina Regidor
Yaney Hernandez
Dayana Rodriguez
Yahajara Sese
Dovelis Torres
Yamilet Peña
Elid Helwigg
Claudia Parra
Ana Sofia Gomez
Marisela Cantu
Yessenia Estrada
Elsa Garcia
Ana Lago
Alexa Moreño
Karla Salazar
Sandra Collantes
Paula Mejias
Nicolle Vazquez
Thema Williams
Bridgette Caquatto
Jessie Deziel
Brandie Jay
Shawn Johnson
Grace McLaughlin
Bridget Sloan
Fanny Briceño
Jessica Lopez
Yarimar Medina
Maciel Peña
Ivet Rojas
Johanny Sotillo
Men's Roster
Nicolas Cordoba
Juan Lompizano
Osvaldo Martinez
Mauro Martinez
Juan Melchiori
Federico Molinari
Francisco Barreto
Pericles Da Silva
Diego Hypolito
Mosiah Rodrigues
Sergio Sasaki
Arthur Zanetti
Mathieu Csukassy
Tariq Dowers
Anderson Loran
Scott Morgan
Jason Scott
Jay Smith
Tomas Gonzalez
Juan Gonzalez
James Brochero
Jossimar Calvo
Jorge Hugo Giraldo
Fabian Meza
Jorge Peña
Javier Sandoval
Rica Costa
Tarik Soto Byfield
Carlos Campaña
Ernesto Vila
Jesus De Leon
Byron Lopez
Boris Merchan
Oscar Cañas
Mynor Juarez
Javier Balboa
Javier Cervantes
Daniel Corral
Santiago Lopez
Luis Sosa
Aldo Torres
Mario Berrios
Jose Quilla
Rafael Morales
Angel Ramos
Tommy Ramos
Luis Rivera
Alexander Rodriguez
Luis Vargas
William Albert
C.J. Maestas
Tyler Mizoguchi
Sho Nakamori
Paul Ruggeri
Brandon Wynn
Regulo Carmona
Adickxon Trejo
Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters