Follow Us On
World Cup Returns Saturday in Ghent
(7 votes, average 5.00 out of 5)

After a three-month hiatus, World Cup action returns this weekend in Ghent, Belgium. More than 100 gymnasts from 30 nations are on the roster for the Ghent World Cup, which begins Saturday.

China's Wu Liufang won World Cup gold medals in Doha (balance beam and floor exercise) and in Paris (balance beam).

The previous World Cup was held in Portugal in June.

The deep men's field includes new Chinese champion Guo Weiyang, Great Britain's Louis Smith, Greece's Vlasios Maras, Israel's Alexander Shatilov and the Netherlands' Yuri van Gelder, Jeffrey Wammes and Epke Zonderland.

2008 Olympic floor exercise champion Sandra Izbasa (Romania) is set to make her return to competition, almost exactly one year after tearing her Achilles' tendon. The other three gymnasts representing Romania are Ana Porgras and Diana Chelaru — also returning after injuries — and Amelia Racea.

Octavian Bellu, once again coaching the Romanian women's team, said each of his gymnasts will compete one to three events in Ghent as a warmup for the upcoming Romanian championships (Sept. 17-19 in Resita) and a triangular with Germany and Switzerland (Sept. 25 in Schaffhausen, Switzerland).

"It is a welcome opportunity to get the taste again of competition," Bellu said. "We're going to Ghent with two main objectives, the first is to finish the meet without any health complications, and the other is to be able to present the routines they've prepared, because, again, they've had a long break."

China is sending rising star Wu Liufang, who has already tasted World Cup gold this year in Doha and Paris, as well as 2008 Olympian Yang Yilin. Other standouts on the roster include Swiss world medalist Ariella Käslin, Moscow World Cup beam champion Luisa Galiulina (Uzbekistan) and Portugal World Cup double champion Jessica Lopez (Venezuela).

Not on the roster is Brazilian Olympian Jade Barbosa, who was forced to pull out of the Ghent World Cup and last weekend's Pan American Championships because of ongoing contract issues with the Brazilian federation. Following the 2008 Olympics, Barbosa had been sidelined for more than a year with necrosis of the wrist. She finished third all-around at the Brazilian Championships in August.

"We did everything we could to put Jade back on the national team," Maria Lucilene Resende, president of the Brazilian Gymnastics Confederation, told the Brazilian press. "But, unfortunately, at this moment, we don't have the signature of her agent, her father."

Ghent is the second to final World Cup before the 2010 World Championships in Rotterdam. Remaining World Cup events in 2010 are in Osijek, Croatia (Sept. 29-Oct. 1), Stuttgart, Germany (Nov. 12-14) and Glasgow, Scotland (Nov. 18-21).

External Link: Official Event Website

Ghent World Cup
Sept. 11-12, 2010, Ghent, Belgium

Men's Roster
Marco Baldauf
Fabian Leimlehner
Thomas Neuteleers
Siemon Volkaert
Tomas Thys
Jonas Toeback
Donna-Donny Truyens
Jimmy Verbaeys
Velislav Valchev
Filip Yanev
Tomas Gonzalez
Cao Yulong
Chen Xuezhang
Dong Zhendong
Guo Weiyang
Liao Junlin
Tong Yingjie
Marko Brez
Tomislav Markovic
Marijo Moznik
Robert Seligman
Constantinos Aristotelous
Irodotos Georgallas
Dimitris Krasias
Isaac Botella
Javier Gomez
Fabian Gonzalez
Rafael Martinez
Ilkka Kuusela
Markku Leinonen
Timo Niemelae
Henrik Petterson
Tomi Tuuha
Sakari Vekki
Daniel Purvis
Theo Seager
Louis Smith
Stavros Kekelos
Eleftherios Kosmidis
Vlasios Maras
Dimitrios Markousis
Eleftherios Petrounias
Vasileios Tsolakidis
Ng Kiu Chung
Shek Wai Hung
Zhong Jian
Vid Hidvegi
Peter Marjan
Attila Racz
Alok Ranjan
Rohit Jaiswal
Ashish Kumar
Partha Mondal
Rakesh Patra
Mayank Srivastava
Alexander Shatilov
Matteo Angioletti
Alberto Busnari
Enrico Pozzo
Ali Al-asi
Jad Mazahreh
Yevgeny Sapronenko
Dmitrijs Trefilovs
Anthony van Assche
Yuri van Gelder
Kas van Weelden
Jeffrey Wammes
Epke Zonderland
Kamil Hulboj
Adam Kierzkowski
Roman Kulesza
Maciej Labutin
Przemyslaw Lis
Marek Lyszczarz
Saso Bertoncelj
Alen Dimic
Rok Klavora
Gregor Saksida
Ziga Silc
Samuel Piasecky
Wajdi Bouallegue
Regulo Carmona
Jose Luis Fuentes
Women's Roster
Julie Croket
Jolien Eggermont
Floriane Scianguetta
Gaelle Mys
Adrian Gomes
Wu Liufang
Yang Yilin
Jessica Gil
Vasiliki Millousi
Paschalina Mitrakou
Hiu Ying Angel Wong
Dorina Boczogo
Luca Diveky
Renata Toth
Priti Das
Roma Joglekar
Dipa Karmakar
Hadas Koren
Roni Rabinovitz
Cheong See Teng
Ang Tracie
Diana Chelaru
Sandra Izbasa
Ana Porgras
Amelia Racea
Ivana Kamnikar
Tjasa Kysselef
Fiona Novak
Jessica Diacci
Ariella Käslin
Luisa Galiulina
Diana Karimdjanova
Asal Saparbayeva
Irina Volodchenko
Jessica Lopez
Comments (2)add comment

diane lee said:

no americans
Why are there no American gymnast competing?? I wish they would include infor like this in their articles.k
September 11, 2010 | url
Votes: +0

Stacy said:

There are a lot of countries that aren't competing. Not every country competes in every event. No Russia either.
September 12, 2010
Votes: +0

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters