China, Japan, Romania Draw Early Sessions for Worlds
(2 votes, average 5.00 out of 5)

The competition draw for the 2010 World Championships was recently conducted in Rotterdam, and Uzbekistan won the grand prize: it drew the coveted final qualification session for both men and women.

On the flip side, 2008 Olympic champion China will compete in the first of 12 women's subdivisions, starting on uneven bars. While competing in the first round, which traditionally is scored lower than later sessions, won't necessarily keep China out of the team final, it could eliminate a few of its gymnasts from qualifying to the apparatus finals.

Japan and Romania also were unlucky. Japan drew the second session for both men and women, and Romania drew session 2 (men) and 3 (women).

The top 24 teams for both men and women will qualify to the 2011 World Championships in Tokyo, so a late session could benefit bubble teams such as Finland and Venezuela on the women's side, and Israel on the men's.

Following are the complete draws by session:

Women (44 teams, 20 individuals)

1) Italy, China, Argentina, Mixed Group

2) Japan, New Zealand, Slovenia, Ukraine

3) Poland, Romania, Brazil, Israel

4) Iceland, India, Singapore, Belarus

5) Australia, Denmark, Mixed Group, Greece

6) Russia, Sweden, France, Great Britain

7) Hungary, USA, South Africa, North Korea

8) Canada, Colombia, Czech Republic, Austria

9) Spain, Portugal, Belgium, Ecuador

10) Switzerland, Korea, Turkey, Mixed Group

11) Mexico, Germany, Norway, Venezuela

12) Uzbekistan, Netherlands, Mixed Group, Finland

Men (53 teams, 33 individuals)

1) Egypt, New Zealand, Korea, Mixed Group, India, France

2) Colombia, Japan, Spain, Romania, Finland, Denmark

3) Canada, Mixed Group, Ireland, Great Britain, Greece, Qatar

4) Poland, Iran, Kazakhstan, Switzerland, Croatia, Netherlands

5) Belarus, Australia, Bulgaria, Mixed Group, Portugal, USA

6) Argentina, Venezuela, Mixed Group, China, Slovenia, Algeria

7) Mexico, Mixed Group, Brazil, Iceland, Russia, Czech Republic

8) Norway, Ecuador, Mixed Group, Hungary, Vietnam, Kuwait

9) Austria, Turkey, Belgium, Taipei, Mixed Group, Italy

10) Germany, Puerto Rico, Israel, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, North Korea

Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Your are currently browsing this site with Internet Explorer 6 (IE6).

Your current web browser must be updated to version 7 of Internet Explorer (IE7) to take advantage of all of template's capabilities.

Why should I upgrade to Internet Explorer 7? Microsoft has redesigned Internet Explorer from the ground up, with better security, new capabilities, and a whole new interface. Many changes resulted from the feedback of millions of users who tested prerelease versions of the new browser. The most compelling reason to upgrade is the improved security. The Internet of today is not the Internet of five years ago. There are dangers that simply didn't exist back in 2001, when Internet Explorer 6 was released to the world. Internet Explorer 7 makes surfing the web fundamentally safer by offering greater protection against viruses, spyware, and other online risks.

Get free downloads for Internet Explorer 7, including recommended updates as they become available. To download Internet Explorer 7 in the language of your choice, please visit the Internet Explorer 7 worldwide page.