Follow Us On
'Deutsch' Duo Bui, Fahrig Claim 27th Swiss Cup
(6 votes, average 4.67 out of 5)

Germany's Kim Bui and Matthias Fahrig defeated another German pair to win the 2009 Swiss Cup, a mixed-pairs event held Sunday in Zurich.

Germany's Kim Bui and Matthias Fahrig defeated another German pair to win the Swiss Cup, a mixed-pairs competition held Sunday in Zurich.

Bui and Fahrig scored 30.400 in the final to defeat compatriots Elisabeth Seitz and Thomas Taranu (29.700).

The home team of Ariella Käslin and Niki Böschenstein placed third (29.675).

The Swiss pair were the top qualifiers to the final after the third round, with 86.325. The Ukrainian pair of Yana Demyanchuk and Nikolai Kuksenkov qualified second to the final (86.200), but placed fourth (29.300).

Pairs from the Netherlands, France and Italy were eliminated after three events, along with a second Swiss duo.

Traditional powerhouses China, Romania and Russia were eliminated after the first two events.

China's He Ning, who won the 2008 Swiss Cup with Lu Bo, scored only 12.900 on floor exercise in the second rotation, where partner Liang Fuliang could manage only 13.400 on still rings.

Romanian world champion Marian Dragulescu's big scores of 15.050 on floor exercise and 16.250 on vault couldn't hold up teammate Diana Chelaru's disastrous 9.800 on uneven bars. Dragulescu won the Swiss Cup in 2001 with Silvia Stroescu and in 2003 with Oana Ban.

European champion Ksenia Semyonova, paired with Russian teammate Sergei Khorokhordin, had an off day, scoring 12.650 on uneven bars and 12.250 on floor exercise.

The 2009 Swiss Cup marked the 10th edition of mixed-pairs competition in Zurich. The annual event switched to its current format in 2000, after being an apparatus-only competition in the 1990s and a traditional all-around competition in the 1980s.

External Link: Swiss Cup Official Site

Click here to download detailed results.

Ten Years of Mixed-Pairs Competition at the Swiss Cup

2000Yelena Zamolodchikova & Alexei Bondarenko
2001Silvia Stroescu & Marian Dragulescu
2002Monica Rosu & Philippe Rizzo
2003Oana Ban & Marian Dragulescu
2004Catalina Ponor & Marius Urzica
2005Han Bing & Teng Haibin
2006Oksana Chusovitina & Jordan Jovtchev
2007Steliana Nistor & Flavius Koczi
2008He Ning & Lu Bo
2009Kim Bui & Matthias Fahrig
Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters